Teagasc – the Agriculture and Food Development Authority – is the national body providing integrated research, advisory and training services to the agriculture and food industry and rural communities. It was established in September 1988 under the Agriculture (Research, Training and Advice) Act, 1988. The organisation is funded by State Grant-in-Aid; the National Development Plan 2007 to 2013; fees for research, advisory and training services; income from national and EU competitive research programmes; and revenue from farming activities and commodity levies. Our 11 member Authority is appointed by the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine and has representatives from the farming organisations, the food industry, universities, the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine and Teagasc staff. The Authority meets on the first Wednesday of every month except in August. The Authority has the following subcommittees: Audit Committee, Remuneration Committee, Research Committee, Advisory/Education Committee and Operations Committee. Teagasc is a client-based organisation employing approximately 1,100 staff at 52 locations throughout Ireland with an annual operating budget in excess of €160 million. We operate in partnership with all sectors of the agriculture and food industry and with rural development agencies. We have developed close alliances with research, advisory and training agencies throughout the world and are continuously seeking to expand our international contacts. Around 75% of Teagasc's yearly budget comes from the Irish exchequer and EU funding with the balance generated from earned income. Some 40% of the budget is devoted to research with the remainder split half and half between advisory and education services Teagasc employs 1,100 staff at 52 locations throughout Ireland. Research services are provided by 216 research scientists, 51 specialists and specialist advisers and 116 research technicians and technologists, 171 support staff and approximately 175 Walsh Fellows (PhD students) at six dedicated centres. There are over 250 advisors based at county and local offices. The eight colleges and local training/research centres are staffed by college lecturers, technicians and education officers.