University of Bayreuth

The University of Bayreuth was established in 1975, and is one of the youngest German universities. Its scientific profile is characterized by interdisziplinarity, individuality, innovation and internationality. With a basis in disciplinary research, the university sets itself scientific goals beyond the boundaries of particular disciplines and joins these together in focal areas. The University of Bayreuth has defined nine focal areas in research: High temperature and high pressure research, Macromolecular and colloid research, Ecology and environmental sciences, New materials, Molecular biological sciences, Non-linear dynamics, Africanology, Cultural comparison and intercultural processes, Dynamics and order - development of law culture and economy. Newly designed teaching programmes in Humanities, Law, Economics and Business Administration, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences and Engineering offer Bachelor and Master degrees, Diploma Degrees als well as the Ph.D. Not only is the university's research on an international level, but the studies always allow for greater international integration. The University of Bayreuth has partnerships with more than 40 universities and research institutions all over the world. It also belongs to the Santander Group, a network of 44 new and small European universities, and is also involved in European mobility programs such as ERASMUS and TEMPUS, which are among the most active in German. In research and development, the University of Bayreuth is increasingly opening itself to product-oriented applied research, and is cooperating partner with commercial comapnies as well as non acedemic research institutions with affinities to application and development.'