Faculty of Science, University of British Columbia

At UBC Science, outstanding scientists and students strive to unravel the principles that underlie our universe—from the subatomic to the macroscopic, from pure mathematics to biotechnology, from ecosystems to galactic systems. Through the breadth and depth of our academic endeavours and the calibre of the people who make up our community, we take pride in discovering new scientific knowledge and preparing Canada’s—and the world’s—next generation of scientists. UBC Science is organized into nine academic departments: Botany, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, Mathematics, Microbiology and Immunology, Physics and Astronomy, Statistics and Zoology. Together with colleagues in other faculties, UBC Science delivers BSc programs in eighteen discrete disciplines, four innovative interdisciplinary programs, and offers a number of ways to combine study across disciplines.