Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg, JMU

The roots of the Julius-Maximilians-Universität (JMU) Würzburg reach back as far as 1402. In that era, it was the sixth institution of higher education to be founded in the German-speaking regions of Europe, after the Universities of Prague, Vienna, Heidelberg, Cologne, and Erfurt. Many eminent scholars and scientists, 14 Nobel Laureates among them, have researched and taught in Würzburg. In that number is Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen, who discovered the X-rays in Würzburg in 1895. Today, JMU is counted among the medium-sized institutions of higher education in Germany. It comprises ten faculties with about 425 professors and 28,000 students. Having grown over more than six centuries, the JMU offers a wide range of subjects. In addition to the classic four – medicine, theology, philosophy, and law - this range includes many new degree programmes. The most recent ones are Biomedicine, Digital Humanities, Functional Materials, Games Engineering, Media Communications, Museology, Modern China, and Nanostructure Technology – to name but a few. The JMU remains clearly and strongly committed to four pillars – humanities, law and economics, life sciences, natural sciences and technology.