Printer friendly version Share


Japan-U.S. Digital Innovation Hub Workshop

20 March 2018 — 20 March 2018 Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST)

Open Conference, Simultaneous interpretation 

Organizers: Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST)

New Energy and Industrial Technology Development  Organization (NEDO)

Co-Organizers: Tohoku University, University of Tsukuba, Keio University, Nagoya University, Osaka University, Hiroshima University, Kyushu University

Support (TBC): Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (MIC), Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan (MOFA), Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT), Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI)

Date: March 20th, 2018 (Tue)     9:30-17:00 

Venue: University of Tsukuba, Tokyo Campus (3-29-1 Otsuka, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo, JAPAN)


This workshop aims to provide a platform to promote collaboration between universities and research institutions in Japan and the United States for the digital era. This collaboration will take place through cooperative research projects on fields such as Data Science, Artificial Intelligence, and Cyber Security, as well as educational projects to develop the skills needed for the digital era. In this sense, the workshop will host discussions and lectures to explore the possibility of effective research cooperation between universities in Japan and the United States using "digital" as a key word, and to share successes and best practices in international cooperation in order to strengthen relations between both countries.

Workshop Advisor: Shuzaburo Takeda, President of Takeda & Associates, Former Senior Advisor to the MEXT

Organizing Chair: Yoshiko Shirokizawa, Executive Director, Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST)

Akihiko Miyamoto, President, New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization (NEDO)

Program Committee:

Chair:         Tetsuya Sakurai, University of Tsukuba

Co-Chair:    Kazuya Takeda, Nagoya University

Committee: Hiroaki Kobayashi, Tohoku University

                      Jiro Kokuryo, Keio University

                      Takao One, Osaka University

                      Satoshi Watanabe, Hiroshima University

                      Seiichi Uchida, Kyushu University

WCSJ-2019 FNSF ad New Cambridge millet expertsvar 2015 Elhuyar with Basque TON logo